David Wheeler (left), Jason Tatlock, Steve Jodis, Bryan Riemann and Dorothee Mertz-Weigel

Faculty Honored during the 2010 Leadership Awards Ceremony

(May 26, 2010) Armstrong Atlantic State University honored five faculty members recently at its 2010 Leadership Awards ceremony.

David Wheeler, head of the Department of Languages, Literature & Philosophy in the College of Liberal Arts, received the Alumni Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the Academic Discipline. Created in 1971, the award recognizes outstanding contributions of faculty to their academic disciplines. Wheeler has been a member of the Armstrong faculty since 2005. During that time, he has chaired a large multidisciplinary department and taught classes every semester. Over the years, he has been a prolific scholar, publishing more than twenty-five critical articles (many of them appearing in the top-ranked journals in his field), editing three books, writing twelve book reviews, and presenting dozens of conference papers and lectures. His anthology on the Restoration and Eighteenth-Century Poetry in its Cultural Context, was published in 2007. It illustrates his sustained commitment to integrating his research interests with his pedagogical practices. He has chaired several regional professional associations' steering and awards committees, and acted as a consultant for other programs' development initiatives. He has been awarded numerous research grants and a coveted National Endowment for the Humanities travel grant.

Jason Tatlock, assistant professor of history in the College of Liberal Arts, was presented with the Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the Community. Established in 1997, the award recognizes the achievements of faculty members who have shown outstanding service to the community through the use of their academic expertise. Tatlock has been a member of the Armstrong faculty since 2007. During this time he has taught a full load of courses, submitted grant proposals to fund a collaborative conference with Savannah State to increase community awareness of issues concerning global and domestic human rights, and volunteered his service in numerous “Navigate” sessions to help new students adjust to college. He has presented several lectures at the Skidaway Community Learning Institute, and has been dedicated to advancing human rights and human rights awareness through his work with the American Democracy Project. With the support of this organization, he has formed the campus-based Initiative for Civic Engagement to connect academic inquiry with public service and to create useful connections with the local community.

Steve Jodis, assistant dean of the College of Science and Technology, was the recipient of the Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the University. Established in 1997, the award recognizes the achievements of faculty members who have been outstanding in representing AASU or in serving as an advocate of the University. Jodis has been a member of the Armstrong faculty since 1990, serving in a number of capacities that include teacher, advisor, department head, acting dean and interim dean. He has worked across colleges, helping to create an interdisciplinary minor in Cyber Security, drafting a new memorandum of understanding for the Georgia Tech Regional Engineering Program, and working on an agreement to provide student internships at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center in Brunswick. In addition, he has served for many years as an ambassador for Armstrong at Navigate, the orientation program for new students, and at numerous campus open houses. When not working in academic initiatives, Jodis finds time to support AASU's sports teams and student athletes.

Bryan Riemann, associate professor of health sciences in the College of Health Professions, received the Kristina Brockmeier Award established to recognize an outstanding faculty member, with one to five years of service. Riemann was cited for his ability to mentor students resulting in more of them actively participating in research and pursuing advanced degrees. He serves as advisor to many sports medicine and physical therapy students. He has authored numerous abstracts and journal articles and serves as director of the College of Health Professions Biodynamics Center. The award is an endowment fund established by Kristina Brockmeier, former director of library services.

Dorothee Mertz-Weigel, assistant professor of French in the College of Liberal Arts, received the H. Dean Propst Award from the Student Government Association (SGA). The award recognizes faculty members who provide outstanding support for student involvement in academic and co-curricular activities. Mertz-Weigel launched and continues to organize the Francophone Film Festivals on campus, started in 2009. She orchestrated a visit to the campus by the Consul General of France in 2008. Students enrolling in her French classes engage in virtual linguistic exchanges via Skype with peers in France. She has also led students in study abroad trips to France.