AASU Alumni Association to Honor Alumni

(June 11, 2009) The Armstrong Atlantic State University Alumni Association will honor two alumni during the 2009 Distinguished and Outstanding Alumni Award Reception. The program and reception will be held on Monday, June 15 at 4 p.m. in Ballroom A of the Armstrong Center, 13040 Abercorn Street.

The Honorable Ronald E. Ginsberg will be presented with the Distinguished Alumnus Award. A judge of the State Court of Chatham County, Ginsberg is a 1965 graduate of Armstrong State College.

The Outstanding Alumni Award will be presented to Patricia B. Parker, a previous director of alumni relations who retired in 2008. Parker earned degrees in 1992 and 1995 from Armstrong State College.

The late Honorable Frank S. Cheatham, Jr. will be remembered by the dedication of a six-foot redwood tree in the university's conifer garden. The tree was donated by his family to commemorate the first anniversary of his passing. A 1944 graduate of Armstrong Junior College, Cheatham was appointed to Chatham County Superior Court in 1972 by Governor Jimmy Carter.

The Alumni Association Board of Directors established the Distinguished Alumni Award in 1988. The award recognizes an Armstrong graduate who has achieved distinction through community involvement and professional expertise. This award honors alumni who have used their Armstrong Atlantic education to prepare for community leadership. Some past recipients include: Frank S. Cheatham, Jr., Arthur Gignilliat, Jr., Irving Victor, John Rousakis, Sidney Nutting, Harriet Konter, Don Waters, W. Ray Persons, Ray Gaster, Herbert Traub and Otis Johnson.

The Alumni Association Board of Directors also established the Outstanding Alumnus Award in 1988. The award recognizes a graduate of Armstrong who has made significant contributions to the growth and development of the university through dedication and support of the institution and the alumni association. Some past recipients include: Craig Harney, Millicent and Norton Melaver, Irving Victor and J. Cliff McCurry.