Opening Ceremonies at the 2009 ACM International Collegiate Programming Competition in Stockholm, Sweden

AASU Competes in 34th Annual International “Battle of the Brains”

AASU computer science students compete on campus to showcase problem-solving skills at regional competition of IBM-sponsored contest

(November 4, 2009) Teams of computer science students from Armstrong Atlantic State University (AASU), and top collegiate programmers from surrounding areas, will solve a semester's worth of computer programming during the annual "Battle of the Brains," the IBM-sponsored Association of Computer Machinery (ACM) International Collegiate Programming Contest. The most prestigious computer programming competition of its kind, the event will gather tens of thousands of students from universities in approximately 90 countries on six continents during its preliminary rounds through December 2010. One hundred teams from around the globe will earn coveted spots at the contest's world finals on February 1-6, 2010 hosted by Harbin Engineering University in Harbin, China.

Teams from 12 universities are coming to AASU to compete on Saturday, November 7 from 1:30-6:30 p.m. AASU is one of three sites in the Southeast USA Programming Contest. Florida Institute of Technology in Melbourne and the University of South Alabama in Mobile—will host simultaneous southeast regional competitions.

The 34th annual Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) International Collegiate Programming Contest challenges three-person teams of university students to use their programming skills and rely on their mental endurance to solve complex, real world problems under a grueling five-hour deadline. One hundred successful teams will advance to the World Finals in Harbin, China. IBM's sponsorship has fueled the growth of the contest to include tens of thousands of students. Since the IBM sponsorship began in 1997, the number of teams participating has grown from 1,100 to more than 7,100 teams.

For more information on previous contests, problem sets and last year's final standings, visit

For more information about the event, email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) in the Department of Information, Computing and Engineering.