Lottie Scott (left), Jill Phongsa and Diane Sellers

AASU Staff Members Recognized During 2010 Awards Ceremony

(May 26, 2010) Armstrong Atlantic State University honored four staff members recently at its 2010 Leadership Awards ceremony.

Lottie Scott, director of Adult Academic Support Services, was honored with the third annual Volunteer Service to the Community Award. The award was established to recognize staff members for exemplary volunteer service to the community, beyond the scope of job responsibilities. Since joining AASU in 1989, Scott has served in leadership positions in several organizations, including the Sigma Tau Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Alpha Phi Omega, the AASU Ebony Coalition, the Campus Campaign, Mini-Faith Day, Macedonia Baptist Church Youth and KAIROS Family Ministry. Scott also has served as president of Covenant Women of the Cloth and Sisters in the Faith Ministry. She has served as scholastic judge for Greater Chatham's Junior Miss Academic Scholarship Pageant and as advisor to the AASU Gospel Choir for more than 20 years.

Jill Phongsa, graphic designer in the Office of Marketing and Communications, received the Spirit of Armstrong Award established in 2007 by the Staff Advisory Council to recognize salaried staff members who exemplify the AASU spirit through service to students, faculty and staff in fulfilling the vision of the university. Phongsa joined AASU in May 2007. Her outstanding work and dedication to the campus community has included designing the logo for the Makin' Maroon Green initiative, her long hours working on the design and construction of the AASU's “Armstrong Atlantic” Pirate ship that graced this year's St. Patrick's Day Parade, and her work as a community advisor for Gulfstream's Student Leadership program. She served on the Campus Campaign Committee and as co-chair of the Special Events Committee of the Staff Advisory Council, organizing the first talent showcase for the campus community.

Diane Sellers, secretary to the dean in the College of Liberal Arts (retired), received the Staff Member of the Year Award, which since 1998 recognizes full-time hourly staff members for their valuable contributions to the university. Sellers joined AASU in 1999. She has been with the dean's office since 2000 and during that time has orchestrated the move of the college offices four different times. She has served five deans and four assistant deans and has participated in the hiring of department heads and more than 70 faculty members. Sellers is well known across campus and serves as the friendly face of the College of Liberal Arts, greeting dozens of employees and visitors every day.