Seniors Brian Dotson and Adam Morrison defeated 63 other moot court teams from across the nation to claim the championship in January 2007. A second AASU team composed of Mary Melton and Melissa Williams finished in the round of sixteen.

AASU to Field Three Teams at Regional Moot Court Tournament

(November 9, 2009) Armstrong Atlantic State University will send three teams of students to compete in the American Collegiate Moot Court Association Southeast Regional Tournament November 13 and 14 being hosted by the University of Tampa.

In 2007, AASU seniors Brian Dotson and Adam Morrison defeated 63 teams to bring home the American Collegiate Moot Court Association National Championship. It was the first time that a University System of Georgia school had accomplished the feat.

The Tampa-bound AASU teams include seniors Melissa Williams and Morgan Owens, Luci Mesco and Amanda Wilson, junior Nick Marson and sophomore LaRon Dunham. One alternate, Kylie Horn, a freshman, has also been preparing to step in if needed.

Williams previously competed in the 2007 national tournament placing within the top sixteen teams. Wilson is also a returning competitor.

AASU will compete against 22 other teams from Holy Cross University, the College of Wooster, Florida Atlantic University, Drake University and the University of Tampa. At least one of the AASU teams needs to place in the top 20 percent at the tournament in order to be invited to the national tournament to be hosted by the Florida International University College of Law in Miami, Florida in January 2010.

The 2009-2010 American Collegiate Moot Court Association tournament focuses debate on the 2009 U.S. Supreme Court case of State of Olympus v. William DeNolf, Jr. In that case, the nation's top court was asked to interpret two of the U.S. Constitution's most cherished civil liberties—the Fourth Amendment's right to reasonable searches and the Eighth Amendment's prohibition of cruel and unusual punishment.

Becky da Cruz, AASU assistant professor of criminal justice and coordinator for the master's of criminal justice program, serves as team coach. Team advisors include Elizabeth Desnoyers-Colas, AASU assistant professor of speech/communication and coordinator for communication studies in the master's of liberal and professional studies program; Judge Michael Barker and attorneys Julie Wade, Joe Steffan and Charles Roessing. The law firm HunterMaclean sponsors the AASU moot court program.