Ron Shiffler, dean of the College of Business Administration at Georgia Southern University, and AASU President Linda Bleicken during the Beta Gamma Induction Banquet at Georgia Southern University in April.

AASU's Bleicken Honored by GSU Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma

(May 14, 2010) Linda M. Bleicken, president of Armstrong Atlantic State University, was recognized as a chapter honoree by Georgia Southern University's chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society during the chapter's induction banquet in April.

The award recognizes individuals who exemplify the ideals of Beta Gamma Sigma—honor, wisdom and earnestness.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.

Beta Gamma Sigma has inducted more than 625,000 outstanding students into membership since its founding in 1913. Members have served in corporate, government, nonprofit, educational, and other management positions at every level of responsibility. Members currently reside in all 50 U.S. states and more than 160 countries around the world.

Bleicken became Armstrong's seventh president in July 2009 after serving at Georgia Southern University for 19 years. She began her career at Georgia Southern as an assistant professor of management in 1990. Over the following years she served as acting chair of the department of management, associate dean of the College of Business Administration, vice president for student affairs, acting provost and vice president for academic affairs and finally was appointed provost in 2005. She holds a bachelor's in marketing (graduating magna cum laude), a master's and a Ph.D. in management from Georgia State University. Past chapter honorees include:

Robert Scott Jepson, Jr. (2009)
Jenny Lind Gentry (2008)
Mike Cummings (2007)
Risa Hammonds (2005)
Olivia Flanagan (2004)
H. Phillip Moore, Jr. (2003)
Ralph M. Andrews (2002)
Eugene M. Bishop (2001)
James J. Childre, Jr. (2000)
Donald L. Moore, Jr. (1999)
Martin NeSmith (1998)
H. Edward Roberts (1997)
Gail Usry Reed (1996)
Hal Averitt (1995)
Warren Jobe (1994)
Warren F. Jones, Jr. (1993)
James E. Hodges (1992)
W. W. (Buzz) Hankinson (1991)
William A. Freeman (1990)
Julian I. Deal (1989)
Patrick G. Blanchard (1989)
William Sprague, Jr. (1987)
H. Dean Propst (1986)
Albert Roesel (1985)
Joseph K. Strickland, Jr. (1985)
John H. Lawrence (1984)
M. C. Anderson (1984)
J. C. Lewis (1983)
Arthur M. Gignilliat, Jr. (1983)
Bo Ginn (1982)
O. B. Bell (1982)