Armstrong Honors MLK Award Winners

Armstrong Honors Inaugural MLK Award Winners

(March 6, 2013) Armstrong's Office of Multicultural Affairs wrapped up a successful and dynamic Black History Month series with the inaugural Martin Luther King Jr. (MLK) Awards Dinner. The dinner, keynoted by former Savannah Mayor and Armstrong alumnus Otis Johnson, honored members of the Armstrong community for their dedication to African-American history, culture, and service.

The dinner began with introductions from Keith Betts, vice president for student affairs and Nashia C. Whittenburg, director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs, along with a stunning performance by Anointed Voices, Armstrong's talented gospel choir. Before the awards were presented, Johnson addressed the crowd and reflected on his own personal journey. Johnson's participation in the program was especially fitting, as he was the first African-American student to matriculate at Armstrong nearly 50 years ago. His story ties in with Armstrong's Black History Month theme, “At the Crossroads of Freedom and Equality.”

The Armstrong MLK Awards recognize students, faculty, and staff members who have gone the extra mile to serve the African-American community on campus and provide mentorship, exceptional service, and guidance. The awards also honor faculty and staff who have personally and professionally reached out to students of Pan-African descent. The student candidate is recognized for mentorship and service, as well as for academic excellence. The Legacy Award is given to a faculty, staff, or alumni member who has been an employee or alumni of the university for at least four years, leaving a lasting legacy.

The 2013 MLK Awards recipients are:

Outstanding Student Leader
Falon Collins, senior communication and sciences disorder major and vice president of Campus Union Board

Outstanding Faculty
Cameron Coates, interim program coordinator and associate professor of engineering

Outstanding Service
Corine Ackerson-Jones, coordinator of recruitment and retention, College of Health Professions
Fernando Foster, network administrator, Information Technology Services

Outstanding Staff
Dorothy Kempson, assistant director of academic support, Liberty Center

Otis Johnson, Armstrong class of 1964, former mayor, City of Savannah