Armstrong Honors Student Leaders

(April 19, 2013) Armstrong held its Student Awards Convocation on Wednesday, April 17, to honor student leaders for their accomplishments and service during the academic year. Awards were given by colleges and individual departments. In addition to many scholarships and other recognitions, the Silver A for Academics and Service—Armstrong's oldest and most prestigious award—were announced.

The 2012-13 Student Award Winners

College of Education

Dean's Awards
Undergraduate: Roger Pacheco
Graduate: Miranda Clayter

Childhood and Exceptional Student Education
Leadership Award: Taylor M. Sauerland
Service Award: Jennifer M. Cox
Graduate Service and Leadership Awards:
Tara B. Rocha
Amber C. Jones
Sadie G. Vercauteren
Giovanni C. Venetico
Patrica Ratcliffe

Adolescent and Adult Education
Adult Education & Leadership Award: Meagan Stachurski
Adult Education Community Service Award: Carl Bleich
Physical Education Major of the Year: April Jowers
The Roy J. Sims Award: Lauren Conner

College of Health Professions

Repella Scholarship Award – Jennifer Nusbaum
Repella Scholarship Award – Jamie Elise King

Spirit of Nursing Award: Laura Berlin

Respiratory Therapy
The Robert DiBenedetto Award for Academic Excellence: Nicholas Degroot
The William J. Smith Award for Outstanding Clinician: Arneesha Mack

College of Liberal Arts

Art, Music, and Theatre

The Presser Foundation Scholarship for the Outstanding Junior Music Major: Stephen Medla

Criminal Justice, Social and Political Sciences
Outstanding Political Science Student Award: Matthew Bryarly
The Menzel-Magnus Award: Michelle Ray

The H. Russell Martin, Jr. Award: David Hoover

The Phi Alpha Theta Award to the Outstanding History Major: Candace McNeal
The Roger K. Warlick Prize: Candace McNeal
The Daughters of the American Colonists Award: Eric Curry
The Savannah Chapter of the DAR Tuthill Scholarship Award: Justin Bernardi

Languages, Literature and Philosophy
Outstanding English Major Award: Nicholas Godfrey and Paris Ross
The Wesleyan Scholarship Award: Maunalee Hashemi
The Jones Scholar Award: Angela Edwards
The Fodor Award: Christina Lamarre and Sharif Lockett
The Calliope Awards:
Calliope Poetry Award: Kasey Stewart
Calliope Art Award: Lisa Co
Calliope Fiction Award: Christina Danos
Calliope "Unhinged" Award: Nekecia Barnes
Outstanding Tutor Award: Austin Deray

Gender and Women's Studies
The Jill Miller Outstanding Student Award: Rodrika Bailey

College of Science and Technology

The Leslie B. Davenport Award: Yasmin A. Cofer
Biology Faculty Special Recognition Award: Morgan T. Greenlee

Chemistry and Physics
The Outstanding Chemistry Senior for Academic Achievement Award: Y Tram Nguyen
The John G. Brewer Chemistry Senior Award: Sarah Franz

Computer Science and Information Technology
Outstanding Student in Computer Science: Dakota Brown
Outstanding Student in Information Technology Award: Andrew Field

Outstanding Senior for Mathematics Award: Joshua Ferrerra

The Dr. Stu Worthington Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Psychology Student: Olivia Singleton

Student Government Association Awards
Paul A. Harris Outstanding Campus Union Board Member: Gabrielle Grubbs
The Henry L. Ashmore Outstanding Senator Award: Elijah Walden

University Awards

Outstanding Honors Student Award: Sara Longaberger
The Georgia Academic Recognition Day Award: Kelsey Kalyta
The President's Cup Awards, presented by the Exchange Club of Savannah: Tyler Erickson and Emily Cattanach
The Joseph A. Buck Outstanding Senior Award: Kwame Phillips
The Bhatia Foundation Award: Meghan Hembree

Who's Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities
Laura Schmarkey
Wesely D. Wells Jr.
Brittany Cook
Ezenwanyi Onwuzuruoha
Chasidy Ortiz

Silver “A” Awards for Academics and Service

Silver A for Academics
Yasmin Cofer
Rachel Pepperdine
Elisabeth Brown
Catherine Gallahue
Rachel Geary
Karla Parfit
Justin Cardiff

Silver A for Service
Jesus Arroyo
Kwame Phillips
Falon Collins
Megan Hembree
Eleora Marcel
Robert Vickery Jr.
Julie Finell