Armstrong Honors Women of Distinction

(April 6, 2013) Armstrong recognized six outstanding student leaders, staff, and faculty at the Women of Distinction Dinner. Armstrong President Linda Bleicken gave the keynote address at this event, which served as the culmination of the successful Women's Empowerment Month programming at Armstrong.

“The Women of Distinction Dinner recognizes members of the Armstrong community who help make the university a better place for everyone,” said Office of Multicultural Affairs Director Nashia Whittenburg. “This event provided an ideal opportunity to celebrate female achievement on campus.”

The evening kicked off with a welcome by Teresa Winterhalter, director of faculty development. Associate Director of Student Life Sally Watkins and Director for the Office of Multicultural Affairs Nashia Whittenburg presented the awards to the honorees.

The Women of Distinction Dinner was part of Armstrong's 2013 Women's Empowerment Month celebration, which took place throughout the month of March. The campus-wide celebration featured nearly a dozen special events united by the theme “I Inspire, I Innovate, I Imagine, WE Empower.”

The Women of Distinction award winners for 2013 are:

Outstanding Student Leader - Sara Longaberger
President of Spanish Honor Society, senior Spanish major

Outstanding Service - Jennifer Rushton
Associate Director of Athletics for Compliance/Senior Woman Administrator, Athletics

Outstanding Service - Julianna Williams
Counselor, Student Affairs

Outstanding Staff - Jewell Anderson
Reference and Instruction Librarian, Lane Library

Legacy - Donna Brooks
Assistant Dean/Associate Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders, College of Health Professions

Outstanding Faculty - Alison Hatch
Assistant Professor of Sociology, Department of Criminal Justice, Social, and Political Science