Armstrong Places 83 Athletes On PBC Presidential Honor Roll

(June 29, 2011) The Armstrong Atlantic State University Athletics Department placed a school-record 83 student-athletes on the Peach Belt Conference's Presidential Honor Roll for 2010-11, as announced by conference officials. Student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher (on a 4.00 scale) for the entire 2010-11 academic year to be honored.

The number eclipses the previous high of 77 Honor Roll honorees achieved last year. Redshirt senior Gwen Clarke (volleyball) earned the honor for an unprecedented fifth time, while five other seniors—baseball player Josh Heath, women's soccer players Kelli Bahr, Tracey Mitchell and Elizabeth Kerkhoff and women's tennis player Alida Muller-Wehlau—finished their Armstrong careers by being named to the Honor Roll four times.

In all, 1,057 student-athletes were named to the PBC Presidential Honor Roll from the 13 league schools, the second straight year in which more than 1,000 student-athletes were honored.

For the third straight year, the honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars (3.00 to 3.24 GPA), Bronze Scholars (3.25 to 3.49 GPA) and Silver Scholars (3.50 to 3.74 GPA) and Gold Scholars (3.75 to 4.00 GPA).

Armstrong's Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll honorees for 2010-11 are: (Times named to the Honor Roll are in parenthesis)

Gold Scholars
Joshua Heath (4), Joseph Snooks, Josiah Siegel, Dustin Allen (2), Tyler Erickson (2), Matthew Motes (3), Gavin Davison, Lorin Ricketson, Keela Scott, Lauren Wilcox, Torrie Bevolo (3), Brendyce Budd (4), Gwendolyn Clarke (5), Casey Howett (3), Briana McFarland (2), Danielle Zuercher, Kelli Bahr (4), Andrea Dawson, Elizabeth Kerkhoff (4), Kristina Pascutti (2), Aleksandra Filipovski, Alida Muller-Wehlau (4).

Silver Scholars
Christopher Base (2), Jacob Tilton (2), Shelby Duff (2), Meagan Qualls (2), Bethany Wilke, Leia Pittman (2), Casie Richards, Brooke Long, Ashley Slade, Victoria Bennett (2), Kelly Pearce (2), Emily Cattanach, Katherine Jesser, Tracey Mitchell (4), Amanda Morphis, Madison Reed (2), Kyndal Schaaf (2), Kathleen Henry (3), Barbora Krtickova.

Bronze Scholars
Michael Barnhill, Grant Domsic, Brett Goodwell, Parker Gordon, Travis Williamson, Matus Mydla, Heather Walker (2), Stacey Davis, Kelsey Piepergerdes, Jessica Santaniello, Jazmin Walker, Rebecca Goldman, Alyssa Anderson (3), Courtney Cawley, Danielle Fey (2), Brooke Lamberth (2), Morgan Mitchell (2), Jordan Otto, Carey Patterson, Amber Raney, Joanna Szymczyk.

Presidential Scholars
Eric Fowler, Tanner Jones, Jesse Osborne (2), Cody Powell, Scott Strickland, Christopher Zittrouer, Adam Doyle, Mikk Irdoja (3), Whitney Galloway, Kelsey Hilbrenner, April Jowers, Christina Chow, Megan Pando, Mauri Wells, Carrie George, Jessica Tomberlin, Erin Holt, Stephanie James, Meghan Mayville, Erin O'Rourke (3), Jessica Gardefjord.