Faculty and Staff Honored at 2015 Leadership Awards Ceremony

(April 28, 2015) — Armstrong honored faculty and staff members at the 2015 Leadership Awards ceremony on April 23.

Armstrong President Linda M. Bleicken presented the annual awards, which recognize outstanding faculty and staff for their dedication to teaching, research and service at the university.

“Faculty and staff working together help support student success at Armstrong,” said Bleicken. “These awards go to individuals who have truly distinguished themselves as leaders.”

The 2015 faculty honorees include:

Thomas Cooksey, professor of English and philosophy, received the Alumni Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the Academic Discipline. The award recognizes faculty members who contribute significantly to their academic discipline, including the creation and dissemination of new knowledge and the interpretation and/or reorganization of existing knowledge.

Jose da Cruz, professor of political science, received the Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the Community. The award recognizes the achievements of faculty members who show outstanding service to the community and specifically recognizes the use of a faculty member's academic expertise in ways that benefit the public in general.

Erik Nordenhaug, associate professor of philosophy, received the Award for Distinguished Faculty Service to the University. The award recognizes the achievements of faculty members who have been outstanding in serving the university, including representing or serving as an advocate of the university, at academic or other functions, through committee service, development of new resources and faculty presentations.

Margaret Brockland-Nease, part-time instructor of English, received the Award for Distinguished Service by a Part-Time Faculty Member. The award recognizes a part-time faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding service to the students, to the university, and/or to their discipline.

Allison Hatch, assistant professor of sociology, received the Brockmeier Faculty Award. The award is an endowment fund established by Kristina Brockmeier, former director of library services, as an expression of her lasting interest in Armstrong's faculty and students. The award recognizes outstanding faculty members, with one to five years of service, who have demonstrated outstanding teaching and made significant contributions through service to the university and its students.

Lorrie Hoffman, professor emerita, was honored as a 2015 Emeriti Faculty.

Becky da Cruz, associate professor of criminal justice, received the H. Dean Propst Award from the Student Government Association. The award recognizes faculty members who have been outstanding in teaching and learning, advisement, counseling and the encouragement and support of student involvement in academic and co-curricular activities, such as research and scholarship.

Armstrong also recognized outstanding staff at the annual Leadership Awards. Staff honorees include:

Nashia Whittenburg, director of multicultural affairs, received the Student Government Association Professional Staff Service Award. With this award, the SGA recognizes an administrative, non-faculty staff member who has performed outstanding service to students and/or made improvements to the quality of their campus experience.

Fernando Foster, manager of networking and telecommunications in IT Services, received the Volunteer Service to the Community Award. This award recognizes a full-time staff member for exemplary volunteer service to the community, beyond the scope of job responsibilities.

Chad Jackson,
director of sports communications, was recognized with The Spirit of Armstrong Award. This award honors a full-time staff member who exemplifies the Armstrong spirit through service to students, faculty and staff.

Tracy Middleton, administrative assistant in health sciences, received the Staff Member of the Year Award. This award recognizes a staff member for their valuable contribution to the community.